Teresa Garcia-Milà

Ada Ferrer-i-Carbonell
Deputy Director for Academic Programs

Alberto Martin
Deputy Director for Research

Marsel Meeuwsen
General Manager

Board of Trustees

Paulina Beato

Board Member Institutions

Academic Members

Manuel Arellano
Professor, CEMFI

Salvador Barberà
Professor Emeritus, UAB and Barcelona GSE

Ramon Marimon
EUI, UPF and Barcelona GSE (on leave)

Andreu Mas-Colell
Professor Emeritus, UPF and Barcelona GSE

Juan Rubio-Ramirez
Professor, Emory University

Scientific Council

The Barcelona GSE Scientific Council provides strategic guidance and works with us to ensure the quality and performance of our academic programs and research activities.

Daron Acemoglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Aloisio Araujo (IMPA and FGV, Rio de Janeiro)

Orley Ashenfelter (Princeton University)

Chong-En Bai (School of Economics and Management, Tsinghua University)

Richard Blundell (University College London)

Janet Currie (Princeton University)

Partha Dasgupta (University of Cambridge)

Mathias Dewatripont (Université Libre de Bruxelles)

Darrell Duffie (Stanford Graduate School of Business)

Raquel Fernández (New York University)

Oliver Hart (Harvard University), NOBEL LAUREATE

James J. Heckman (University of Chicago), NOBEL LAUREATE

Bengt Holmström (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), NOBEL LAUREATE

Matthew Jackson (Stanford University)

Tim Kehoe (University of Minnesota)

Anne Krueger (The Johns Hopkins University)

Justin Yifu Lin (National School of Development, Peking University)

Robert Lucas (University of Chicago), NOBEL LAUREATE

Charles Manski (Northwestern University)

Eric S. Maskin (Harvard University), NOBEL LAUREATE

Preston McAfee (former Chief Economist of Microsoft)

Roger Myerson (University of Chicago) NOBEL LAUREATE

Juan Pablo Nicolini (US Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis)

Edward Prescott (Arizona State University), NOBEL LAUREATE

Hélène Rey (London Business School)

John Roberts (Stanford University)

Alvin Roth (Stanford University), NOBEL LAUREATE

Ariel Rubinstein (Tel Aviv University and New York University)

Thomas Sargent (New York University), NOBEL LAUREATE

Christopher A. Sims (Princeton University), NOBEL LAUREATE

Robert Solow (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), NOBEL LAUREATE

Nancy Stokey (University of Chicago)

Fabrizio Zilibotti (Yale University)

About the Barcelona GSE Scientific Council

In memoriam: Hugo Sonnenschein (1940-2021), chair of the Scientific Council

The BSE community was deeply saddened this summer by the loss of Hugo Sonnenschein, who served as the Chair of our Scientific Council since its creation in 2008 until his passing in July 2021.

“Hugo’s work as Chair of the Scientific Council was superb, and his friendship and personality will always be remembered.”
Joaquín Almunia, honorary chair of the Barcelona GSE

Read about Hugo Sonnenschein’s contributions to academia and to the Barcelona GSE community

Units Committee

The Units Committee guides the development of the school’s research initiatives for scientific cooperation. It is composed of the directors of the Barcelona GSE academic units and chaired by the School’s Director.

Enriqueta Aragonès
Director of the Institute for Economic Analysis (IAE-CSIC)

Francesc Obiols-Homs
Head of the UAB Department of Economics and Economic History

Daniel Serra
Chair of the UPF Department of Economics and Business

Jaume Ventura
Director of the Center for Research in International Economics (CREI)

Academic Programs Committee

The Academic Programs Committee validates the master programs and follows their development. It also deals with the academic affairs of the school. The committee is composed of Barcelona GSE Affiliated Professors and chaired by the School’s Director.

Jose Apesteguia (ICREA-UPF and Barcelona GSE)

Fernando Broner (CREI, UPF and Barcelona GSE)

Jordi Caballé (UAB and Barcelona GSE)

Gábor Lugosi (ICREA-UPF and Barcelona GSE)

Inés Macho-Stadler (UAB and Barcelona GSE)

Laura Mayoral (IAE-CSIC and Barcelona GSE)

Research Committee

The Research Committee supports the Director and Deputy Director for Research in assessing and improving the research activities developed by the Barcelona GSE, as well as proposing and designing new research activities that may be of interest to our community.

Larbi Alaoui (UPF and Barcelona GSE)

Jordi Brandts (IAE-CSIC and Barcelona GSE)

José García-Montalvo (UPF and Barcelona GSE)

Joan Llull (MOVE, UAB and Barcelona GSE)

Albert Marcet  (ICREA-CREI, UPF and Barcelona GSE)

David Pérez-Castrillo (UAB and Barcelona GSE)

Administrative Staff

Academic Affairs and Career Services

Helga Kirchner
Academic Affairs and Career Services Manager

Catia Abaji
Career Consultant

Ariadna Barberà
Project Coordinator and Quality Analyst

Andrea Cuyás
Career Consultant

Adela Gavozdea
Program Coordinator

Magdalena Grucza
Career Consultant

Bea Hernanz
Alumni Relations Officer

Ibana Larrubia
Career Consultant

Marta Ledesma
Program Coordinator

Tuuli Linkola
Program Coordinator

Laurence Penven
Career Consultant

Coral Ruano
Program Coordinator

Rocio Ruiz
Program Coordinator

Sergi Sánchez
Career Consultant

Esther Xifré
Program Coordinator

Communications and Engagement

Joan Rubió
Communications, Admissions, and IT Manager

Aureli Bisbe
IT Specialist

Lupe Castro
Admissions Specialist

David de Lamo
IT Specialist

Lluis Espallargas
Communications Specialist

Saúl Fernández
IT Specialist

Greta Garcia
IT Specialist

Sira Mora
Marketing Specialist

Sandra Moro
Admissions Specialist

Jodi Neufeld
Communications Specialist

Roger Vilaret
IT Specialist


Bruno Guallar
Research Manager

Marta Molina
Research Projects Coordinator

Anna Ventura
Research Events and Community Coordinator

Finance, Administration, and IT

Aurora Anguita
Financial Controller

Encarna Bretones
Accountant Assistant

María García

Andrea Lacambra
Administrative Officer

Eva Pujol
Administrative Officer